100 days of code : Day 12

You can find day 11 here.

What I planned to do

Exercism: Test my code and make corrections.
IT Support Job: Whatever comes.
IT volunteering: Launching tomorrow. Need to make some finishing touches.
Outreachy application: Answer essay questions and share responses with friends and former Outreachy participants for crosschecking.
API project: Maybe I need to understand my entity-relationship.

What I did

IT Support Job:
1. A staff member brought his computer to be fixed and the issue was that the computer was charging but was not coming on. I found out it was a RAM issue (a colleague suggested we open up the laptop and resit the RAM). We did that and it came on but we had to isolate each RAM (The laptop had 2 RAMs) because the problem started again. Probably one of the RAMs is failing. (Worked with 2 other of my colleagues on this).

2. I had to reinstall Adobe acrobat reader on a computer because adobe reader dc wasn’t allowing the user to save changes.

3. A printer wasn’t available on the network even though it was connected via wireless so my boss, another colleague and I went to check it out. We tried tracing the wired ethernet cable to see if we could fix the wired connection to the printer but it seems that the ethernet wall plate is faulty then we tried reconnecting the ethernet cable in the roof coming from the closest zone to the access point box but the light kept changing from green to amber which indicated that the wireless connection was faulty. My boss and colleague both went downstairs to try restarting the ethernet switch and the media converter but I didn’t go with them but helped to monitor the light fluctuation on the access point. Lastly, we removed the access point box from the roof and connected it to another wall plate using an ethernet cable in the room and that fixed the issue. So the printer worked well with the wifi. One new thing I learned is that any IP address that begins with 162 is “dirty” it ought to begin with 10.**.

4. Fixed another system but motherboard issue. We couldn’t fix this so the user has to take outside for fixing.

Exercism :

Ran dotnet test and got this error. Researching it.

IT volunteering: I didn’t manage to work on this as I was so tired at night, tomorrow will do.
Outreachy application: I have answered all the questions. Here are my answers. I have also shared responses with former Outreachy participants on Linkedin.
API project: Maybe I need to understand my entity-relationship.

For tomorrow

IT Support Job: Whatever comes.
Exercism: Solve issues with lasagna.
IT volunteering: Launching today.
Outreachy application: Adjust answers based on feedback received.
API project: I need to understand my entity relationship.

You can find day 13 here.

2 thoughts on “100 days of code : Day 12

Leave a comment