Test Cases

Hello everyone,

I am resuming blogging again and I want to use this as an opportunity to learn in public and contribute to the testing community.

Today, I want to talk briefly about Test Cases.

Test Cases happen to be a controversial topic in the testing space due to their wrong usage and overemphasis on them as the main component of testing.

I started writing test cases recently and I have had a positive experience.

Usually, what I do is go through existing test cases on different sections of the project and use that to build my understanding of the software and I most of the time find bugs along the way.

In creating test cases, I assess the requirement artefacts and take note of as many possible test scenarios as possible. I then break them down into steps. Because I use Azure DevOps, I use shared steps when needed. The number of test cases created is not a measurement of coverage for us but the most important metric for work done is the number of bugs left to be fixed.

What’s your opinion about test cases and how do you use them?

#Edit :Changed the wording to emphasise the test case writing and usage.

Leave a comment