100 days of code : Day 20

Today’s initial plan

What I eventually did

IT Job : worked on mapping a folder in the network to each computer. I Worked with other colleagues of course. This was an interesting thing to do but it is quite repetitive, It also seems to me that manually doing this is the most reliable way for now. We also tried installing Sage but we encountered too many issues. My boss will let us know the next steps. I spent sometime helping a friend debug her nest project. Even though I have never used nest I am glad I was able to figure out a few things. In addition to Nest, I helped solve a number of git problems. Ine important thing I learnt from this is that you have to make sure when using a public computer, you use git config to set your username and email in the command line otherwise, you’d push to your account with another person’s account since the cli asks for your username and Access token when you attempt to push. In addition, force pushing is not the best thing to do. My being able to help her is also proof that I am not where I was when I started learning to code and in fact, I am not where I was 2 years ago .

API project : Always read your error messages properly!!! . I realised I just needed to delete a user model class I created which was different from the user model class my project was using. The old one was using the internal access modifier but it was supposed to be public. Anyway I deleted the whole thing since I had another user model class, the correct one. Also, I have written the get all users endpoint. I found the first video and half of the second video very detailed and organised especially because Tim Corey really likes separating concerns a lot which is good but requires you to create many files.

Plan for tomorrow :

IT job : tomorrow is my free day (not entirely free since I need to sign for my CDS but may go to work later in the afternoon.

IT volunteering : Clean up the site, map the event domain to the page on the general site.

API project : Finish with the second part of the tutorial and based on my understanding crosscheck with my requirements and modify project as such. If there is time, set up identity management.

Others : Convo with Mentor. Start daily pomodoro tracking.

Leave a comment