Outreachy progress report Day 1- 5

Today’s date is 29th March. 5/29 days till the outreachy contribution deadline.

I got into outreachy (Initial application). Yippee! I spent yesterday deciding on the organisations to apply to and I have decided to apply to GNOME, Ceph and OCaml in that order.

Today, I was able to finish setting up the chat for GNOME on Element for mobile and Quarternion all using Matrix. I have not yet understood Matrix in theory but from experience I see it’s the protocol that these 2 clients use for messaging. It also is the back-end that powers the both of them. What exactly is a protocol? I think it is a language agnostic method for designing secure messaging services.

I have also installed Flatpak and flathub. Flatpak is used for building and distributing desktop applications. I suppose it’s similar to docker but for linux. It allows your linux applications work across various distributions. I have also installed Builder which I used to test the GNOME translator project.

I have also decided to strike out OCaml for various reasons but 1 being that working on 2 projects already feels overwhelming.

I am finding it difficult setting up IRC for Ceph, well, I have emailed the mentor for help. Hopefully I will be able to sort it out as soon as possible.

I have chosen an issue to work with on GNOME but still don’t fully understand what the entire project is about. I haven’t chosen an issue for Ceph but will do tomorrow.

To do for tomorrow :

  1. Ceph :
    1. Setup the IRC chat
    2. Clone the ceph project to my system
    3. Understand how Make works
    4. Understand how to build a Linux project using the source code (I did this yesterday but don’t understand).
    5. Build the project using the guide.
  2. GNOME:
    1. Study the GTK doc.
    2. Work on the issue. Make at least 1 push.
    3. Help at least 1 person in the gnome translator channel.
    4. Study the introductory chapters on Head first C, C programming : absolute beginners guide, C: How to program and EDX.
    5. Collate topics to be studied in C and add to timetable.

These 2 are for mornings and evenings.

  1. Read Open Source book (Revise past readings).
  2. C#/.net: I want to still keep my C# skill sharp
    1. Work on 1 hour of this freecodecamp tutorial.
    2. Analyse progress so far with hotel management project and outline what exactly is left to be done.

That’s a lot but I will start the day earlier, hopefully I survive lol.

Pendings

Ceph

  1. Study the ceph project to understand what it is about
  2. Understand what exactly my task is.
  3. Make at least 1 push.

Leave a comment